Monday, 13 June 2011


I've been painting a lot lately, trying to put my own touch in my new pad. A bench was left on the balcony, the metal part was all rusted and the wood was starting to rot so I dismantled it, sand the wood and clean the metal parts. I used the paint I bought for the balcony rail to paint the metal parts and the paint for the windows for the wood pieces.
Here is the result and I must admit I am rather proud of myself and my brand new bench :o)

Now, if we could have some sunshine I could use it...
It is amazing what a bit of TLC can do!

Sunday, 5 June 2011


I've taken a new hobby: gardening. My new pad has a balcony so I've decided to have a few edible plants. I've got loads of orchids and they are dead easy to maintain (just need to water them once a week) but tomatoes are much more demanding! I've planted them at the end of march and left them behind my south facing window. I've dispatched them in various location now that I've moved. 4 are in the kitchen, 2 on the balcony and 2 on the landing. They all have flowers and the ones in the kitchen have started producing fruits. I have 5 little green tomatoes so far and much more to come :)

I also have some alpine strawberries:

In July I am going to plant a pumpkin as well. I am dreaming of having a huge one on my balcony :o) I'll report on that later....

Saturday, 4 June 2011


What's my excuse this time for not blogging for more than 2 months????
I moved into my new place on 6th May but I haven't had time to sit down and enjoy it yet! I've been painting, entertaining friends, travelling, gardening, decorating, planning holidays, working....
Knitting is not on the list because I simply didn't have time for it! I did some before moving though:

Pattern from Lucinda Guy book "Designs for kids". Half of them have now moved to their new owners. A couple of them are enjoying sunshine in France and one will be flying to Poland soon...
I've arranged a little knitting corner in my new pad:

That's it for now. Next time, I'll show you my tomatoes :o)